Stretching Natural Hair with African Threading.

WP_20141114_014_Fotor  African Threading….

I have always wanted to try this out; since like forever. My mum had always tried to convince me to do it. She assured me confidently that it would stretch out my kinks and coils a great deal so I took the plunge and went for it.

So one midnight in the middle of watching teen wolf, I took down my twists, lightly misted water and sealed with shea butter and then I began threading each section of hair. I made use of regular sewing thread.To be honest I really enjoyed threading my hair. Its super duper easy to do but it was time consuming because it was my first time and I had to thread slowly. I didn’t want to rush anything at all.

My personal tips and tricks
1)Make use of cotton sewing thread. They provide just enough friction to avoid slipping from your hand while threading as compared to the black plastic strings.

2) You might need to double the thread once or twice. Using just a single thread on medium sections would provide too much tension which can make the thread cut. Doubling the thread gives the right amount of tension.

3) You should thread smaller sections if you want  super stretched out hair.WP_20141228_051(1)_Fotor_Collage - Copy WP_20141228_039 - Copy

4) Take your time to thread.

5) Thread on thoroughly detangled hair

6) Thread the base each section firmly for stretched roots.

7) Avoid pausing while threading a section to prevent uneven spacing. I noticed I only got uneven spacing whenever I paused to take breaks.WP_20141228_010

I loosened the 16 sections of thread two days later and brushed out each section with a paddle brush to give the blown out effect and voila!

WP_20141229_183

I was feeling a little fancy so I decided to straighten my hair. I achieved this using the comb-chase method of flat ironing. This method gives a smoother sleeker look on the ends of the hair. After straightening a couple of sections, I wrapped them around flexi rods to set. About two hours later, I was able to achieve this.

WP_20141229_225_Fotor_CollageWP_20141229_247

By the way, flat ironing natural hair so stressful and time-consuming. But it was worth it! I still haven’t gotten the hang of wrapping straight hair. Please share you tips and tricks for wrapping straight hair at night.

African threading is definitely worth worth it. I would leave my blow dryer for speeding up roller sets and wash n go drying time because I would be doing more of this in the future.!!!

Until next time

14 comments

  1. Hey!
    I loooove African threading my hair! If you want a super stretched, straight-ish stretch from the threading, keep it in for a day then take each one out, comb lightly and rethread. I haven’t used a straightener/flat iron or blow drier on my hair in about 3 years and yet, I can pretty much get the look without them by doing this.
    And don’t worry, you’ll get the hang of threading in no time and it’ll take you like 10-20mins to thread your entire head of hair, without having to look or needing to pause.

    Like

    • Happy 2015 Samantha. Great tips. I would definitely try that next time I thread! I have never actually though of it. Re threading.

      Like

  2. One reason I don’t want to flat iron my hair is that I’m scared I may never return to having my afro which I love very much. Is this correct or I’m just being scared for nothing?

    Like

What do you think?