NOBLE GOLD KINKY BULK HAIR For Crochet Braids – First Impressions.

Crochet Braids have become quite popular in the natural hair community. With different hair brands and textures to choose from, our creativity knows no limits.

Back in August and October 2014, I experimented with crochet braids for the first time using marley hair. That’s pre-sectioned textured hair which comes in a single bunch.  I also explained some pros and cons of the hair and some styling options I employed and maintenance.fotor_Lomogram_2014-08-10_08-32-29-PM FotorCreated

FotorCreatexd

This time around, I will be experimenting with this bulk hair called Noble Kinky Bulk. My sister got one for herself last week to use for kinky twists and I researched on the hair and the styles made with it, accessed the hair and immediately fell in love and I was like…here comes crochet braids again!  I haven’t actually installed them yet but I will be installing them this coming Saturday. A more detailed review would be done on the hair about 3 weeks post installation just as I did with crochet braids with marley/ kinky braiding hair.

Taken with Lumia Selfie Taken with Lumia Selfie

Name: Noble Gold Kinky Bulk

Price: N700 to N1000

Associated hair styles:

d9d48f15e22e5af1c0089422d47afde4 afro_kinky_bulk5-1-420x530 IMG_1368

So here goes my first Impressions and some observations…

 

Product packaging:

Like many other hair packaging, the hair comes with its front side clear but with its other side slightly opaque. The packaging is of high quality. Inside the pack are 20 mini-bundles of hair further arranged into 5 big bundles altogether .This simply means one big bundle contains 4 mini bundles. (The pictures below show 4 big bundles still intact)

Taken with Lumia Selfie Taken with Lumia Selfie Taken with Lumia Selfie

Appearance:

A frizzier looking type 3c-4a kinky-curly curl pattern best describes the appearance of the hair.Unlike the Marley braiding hair which has been pre-joined to look ‘’twist outy’’ and stretched out, this bulk hair has been made to look very realistic and natural. With the wash and go thing going on, some parts of the hair looking very defined, other parts looking less defined, the overall frizz. It also has this realistic springy attribute to it when pulled and released, just like natural hair which seems to blend perfectly well with my natural hair texture.

It is quite hard to identify my hair after twisting the hair with a portion of my natural hair and unravelling the twist.

It is roughly 10 inches unstretched, and about 22 inches (mid back- length I guess) when stretched.  This hair in particular feels less coarse compared to kinky/marley hair brands I have used.

Taken with Lumia Selfie Taken with Lumia Selfie Taken with Lumia Selfie

Picture below: My hair+ hair finger combed out.Taken with Lumia Selfie

Picture below: My hair quickly twisted with hair and unraveled.Taken with Lumia Selfie

Ease of use:

Generally, synthetic kinky hair brands are quite challenging to work with but I believe this hair is not so challenging to work with when braiding or twisting. It detangles fairly easily when I finger detangle with water in small sections. I also noticed it works quite well with water. Water seems to restore it back to its natural pre-curled state after undergoing stress from finger detangling! I didn’t expreiment with combs because I didnt want to ”spoil” the hair..lol..so I cant say how this hair reacts to combs and brushes.

My proposed Look:

I am really going for a more realistic looking mane similar to my current hair volume and length. I really want to experiment with this hair and still feel like am using my hair to do so. This look has been inspired by very few people I found on Youtube.

Here is one of my inspirations:

vlcsnap-2015-04-08-21h33m20s509 vlcsnap-2015-04-08-21h31m38s935 vlcsnap-2015-04-08-21h30m19s745

Summary:

All in all, this hair would be perfect for crochet braids. I’m so exciting to be trying this soon. I just can’t wait to offload all the hair styling options I would be trying with this hair to you guys. Form rod sets, to braids and braid outs, to twists and twist outs, to afro puff and the list goes on. It’s just so refreshing to know that this hair offers so much styling options to explore.  And hey! Am I the only one who thinks this hair would be incredibly perfect for those faux buns and puffs?

Have you tried this kinky bulk brand before? What was your experience like?

Watch this space for the

-Installation process (post coming up soon)

-Full review of this hair.

Until next time,

Nafisah.

39 comments

    • Please get your hands on 2 packs. I’m in love with this hair. Much softer and manageable than marley. As I type this, I’m currently weaingr it. Installation processes will be posted soon.

      Like

  1. HI Nafisah! I just stumbled upon your blog and its so helpful and informative! I also had the same idea to do crochet braids when I saw the Nobel Kinky hair brand for sale at my local supermarket. I completely agree with you on the softer texture of the hair in comparison to Marley hair. I will be installing mine tomorrow and I hope it turns out as nice as your Marley hair installation. I also wanted to ask if you added any curling creams to your Marley hair before dipping in hot water? Thanks again for the tips!

    Like

    • Awwn. Thank you. The last crochet braids I did, I didn’t apply any products and the hair curled very nicely. I have heard some people say applying no product allows the hair to curl better. I haven’t experimented with products though.

      Like

  2. Hello Nafisah, i am so thrilled that i stumbled on your blog. I have been on the internet all day searching for DIY crotchet braids. Though there are so many links online, i am glad to finally connect to a fellow Nigerian. I was in Balogun market today searching for marley braids and everyone seemed not to have heard of it so i reluctantly bought the noble twists same as you have and i don’t know how it will turn out. Planning to install it tonight as i have a wedding tomorrow . I honestly thought i made a wrong choice buying the attachment but now i feel better. Please post as soon as you can. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great to hear that noble kinky is actually nice, I was so sad not to have gotten marley braids at the local market here and I almost gave up. I hope I can make the curls I want with the noble kinky

    Like

  4. I like the hair like serioysly. The 1st time i used it, its was very nice on me. Making me look like a baby. But that is if u buy d original. Its very nice. Am using it again. Thank to noble.i used gold at d tip.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Where can I get Noble Gold Kinky Bulk hairpiece in Johannesburg? I’ve been looking everywhere and can not win. Please assist. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jst stumbled on your blog, and am reading up pls show me what you did with the noble gold kinky braids thanks

    Like

  7. Quick question so to detangle this hair u just water and ur fingers I have this hair on now let’s just say it looks like a bush pls help a Naija sister out

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey…amazing blog you have here..
    I have just done this hair in vixen and I must say it looks amazing..the only problem is that its a little to bulky, can I use hot water to make it settle a bit..and should I braid it as I put it in hot water…help a sister please
    <3. Thanks in advance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Kello. Personally, I can’t guarantee if the hot water will help it lay down abit. I think it does. Please try it and let me know.

      Like

  9. Hi Naffy,I’m also carrying this kinky afro right now,(doing afro for the first time) and it actually feels awkward when I step out,like a bush on my head.pls can you post some afro packing styles?I’m so tempted to uninstall it cos I’m almost discouraged I tried something new. And thanks for coming up with this blog.

    Like

  10. I will like to become one of the distributors of all sort of ur hairs. and where is ur address located.

    Like

  11. i must confess that this blog is a very nice one and thanks to nafisah for dis great job, just got 2packs of d attachment and i want to know if there are styles to pack with d weavon to make it new everyday cos i can get tired of carrying one style

    Like

What do you think?