My First Crochet Braids with Kinky Hair!

fotor_Lomogram_2014-08-10_08-32-29-PM I’m so excited making this post because I have been wanting to do crochet braids for so long and now I finally got the hang of it and took the plunge. Well this post is long over -due because it’s been 3 good weeks since I installed them.*covers face* Anyway, let me take you through the process and give a quick review from my experience.

Hair Preparation:

I shampooed and deep conditioned my hair as usual. I put up my moisturized hair in medium sized braids to stretch for a few hours. I later  put my hair in big  flexi -rods further stretching. I ended up having a super stretched-out fro ready to be cornrowed.WP_20140809_013_Fotor_Collage

Braid pattern:

The braid pattern was a simple ”all- back” style. I wanted to wear the style with a side part but I then realised after installing that this pattern isn’t the right one for my intended style.WP_20140809_027_Fotor_Collage

Hair Extensions used:

I used 2 packs of  Supreme Royal Silk Afro Twist Braid (N1300 per pack) and 1 pack Noble Gold Natural Braiding Hair (N700 per pack) These extensions were actually old extensions I used to install my kinky twists back in February 2014.

Installation process: (about 3 hours)

The installation process was quite easy and smooth. This was my first time installing crochet braids and I hope my hands would do  faster job later on as I install crochet braids. I installed using a single bobby pin!

Installation How-to:

A lot of naturals on Facebook have been asking about how installed the hair when I post the pictures on Facebook weeks back. Here is a pictorial from a very good Youtube video. This would save time rather than watching a 10-minute tutorial video.vlcsnap-2014-08-28-00h05m33s252_Fotor_Collage

Final results:

I loved the way the hair came out at the end of the day. This is a combed out hair to encourage easier styling.WP_20140810_040_Fotor_Collage_Fotor

Maintenance:

I simply mist my hair with a mixture of water and leave in conditioner. Whenever I style the hair, I mist it with the same mixture. Prior to going to bed, I simply wear my satin bonnet over the day’s style. I don’t pack it up or twist it.

Styling:

WP_20140814_009
About the size of my smallest finger.

This is my third week in the protective style and I must say, I’m really loving it. I have tried different styles from curly hair to updos to wearing it down, wearing it straight, pony tails and scarfing but here is one prominent style I love. I achieve this my simply putting the hair in about 17 braids, setting it in (short blue) perm rods and dipping in hot water for small and curls.fotor_130524965328132006 fotor_WP_20140814_063 WP_20140814_068_Fotor

Pros:

1) The look and feel of big hair on you:

Big hair is absolutely beautiful and eye catching at first sight!

2) Heads will turn; Eyes would stare: Well…lool, I don’t know if this is much of a good thing but to me,  personally I like a bit of attention (on my hair especially) form time to time.Some may even walk up to you to ask questions. A lot of random people have definitely asked me questions since I installed.

3) Marley hair is the easiest type of hair to install:

it is so easy to install. and you go with bigger sections of braiding hair instead of smaller sections that usually takes more time. But if you want a more sculpted and more-realistic look, you could go for smaller sections of hair. the knots also hold well just by knotting once.

4) More styling options than straight/curly hair extensions:

There’s just so many styles to try with this hair. I have achieved about 7 different styles from it.

5) It is almost weightless:

When I wear updos, I almost forget I’m wearing marley hair.

6) It holds styles really well:

Twisting, braiding, roll and tuck, etc. have never looked so beautiful. It keeps the styles in for a longer period of time than a curly/straight hair would.

Cons

1) It sheds:

Like..a lot. Every time I try to detangle the hair, the comb always ends up with a lot of hair on it. Sometimes I worry all the hair would come off before my proposed take down date X_X

2)It tangles easily:

I practically have to run a comb through it everyday. no matter how much i have detangled it the day before.

3)It can be a lot of hair to deal with:

This is nt much of a problem for me but  a lot of people have complained about styling the hair because it is so big. I personally noticed that every time i comb it, it gets sort of ”longer” so I trim the hair sometimes to get an even look.

4) I can’t revert back to it kinky texture and fuller look once pressed: Depending on the brand of hair extension you use, you should test a couple of hair if you want to straighten it. I realised the hair only needed just a little heat to be straight. I love the straight look I got from it.

So that’s pretty much it. I love the look, feel and versatility of this style. With Marley Crochet braids, it never gets boring! There are just so many styling options to explore.

 Until next time!

 

38 comments

    • Thanks A.B. The hairs were actually already used hair from my kinky twists some months back. I just took about 2 /3 untwisted strands and attached. Afterwards I combed it out!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. GORGEOUS!!!! You did a great job!!! I’ve tried it twice, the first time with Marley hair (I let my girlfriend do it), and it was just too big. Like Chaka Kahn big! The pieces she used were simply too big. The second time my sis in law did it and it was another kind of kinky hair and it turned out really cute. You are so right – it sheds A LOT!! I tried to keep it twisted or plaited up every night for that very reason. There is a particular style that I want soooo badly and I know my sis in law can do it!!! Keep up the good work girl! I love your step by step instructions too! 🙂

    Like

  2. Your hair’s so pretty Nafisah! I want to crochet braid really soon too. I’m just hunting for the right hair. One that is kinky and big but not Lion King big. Just the right amount of ‘bigness’

    Like

    • Lol at lion king big…i have worn it just big the way it is on several ocassions. My course mates saw me and asked if my hair grew overnight!

      Like

  3. Love!
    I want to try crochet braids for my birthday next week and getting the right weave is the problem.
    The Supreme Royal Silk, does it come in separate pieces like the Noble Afro Kinky?

    Like

  4. Thank you reybekah. Yes it does. I would bevtrying out the style with curly hair sometime soon. But crochet braids with kinky hair is here to stay for me

    Like

  5. i wonder how i can curl it with hot water….im scared it ll burn my scalp and also between da royal silk and noble wich is better and how mny packs??

    Like

  6. Yes,you can. You can use the perm rods and dip in hot water or wraps yarn at the end and also dip in hot water. Like I said, you can’t tell the difference between the two hair; at least, I couldn’t. So get the cheaper brand to save money 🙂

    Like

  7. Hello Nofisah,

    This is amazing. I am so going to try this out and hopefully do a review on this. So beautiful. Thanks for the detailed info and pictures.

    Like

  8. I have two packs of afro kinky twist and one pack of Marley that I accidentally bought. Is that gonna be a problem? Will the look the same when styled or dipped in hot water?

    Like

  9. Hey Tator. I believe most synthetic hair extensions feel and look the same way. they should blend well when styled or dipped in hot water,

    Like

  10. Hi! I was inspired by this post amongst others and I decided to try it. Used only two packs of Supreme Afro Kinky but when I was done the hair was sooo huge and unmanageable. *covers face *
    Dunno if it was the braid pattern I used. Or maybe the extensions. One was really soft and smooth while the other was like hay (fake?). I really don’t know but I just couldn’t deal. Tried rolling with flexi rods and hot water. Still no show. Had to take it down immediately and did faux locs instead. Was kinda sad sha.
    Would try again with less hair or a different type and simpler braid pattern. Just thought to let you know tho’. Any advice?

    Like

  11. Aww. Sorry about that Tizzy. For me two to three pack gets the job done without looking so huge/ winchy winchy. It could also have been your braiidng pattern. ypu could try the simple all back. you should also consider leaving a wider spacing betwren strands of hair you attach to the cornrows. spacing to close would look too full and spacing too wide would look too scanty

    Like

  12. hi nafisah. i just bought 2 packs n was browsing styles to use it for when i saw ur blog. so im goin to try it. will let u knw how it goes on monday. thanks for the inspiration

    Like

    • I think you should cut in to two because once you comb out it would stretch out. It all depends on the length you trying to achieve.

      Like

    • Lol..that’s nice to know. But apparently, I haven’t seen your face before, so I cant tell. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

What do you think?