LATE HAIR UPDATE: 3 Weeks old box braids and the takedown..

First and foremost, this is an extremely late post. Reason being that I have been having issues transfering my Pictures from my Nokia phone to my laptop. Anyways that problem has been solved now. So on to the issue at hand.

WP_20140105_005
Few minutes before takedown

So here we have what looks like a a big head surrounded by medium sized box braids. Did I hear someone say yeah? Lol.. Well I had these braids installed on the 17th of December; I made them at this well known salon in Lagos at their Yaba branch. The reception I received and their work was fairly okay and quite bad for a well known salon in Lagos. I felt like I had just dumped my hair at the mercy of the hair stylists again! It was a mini horror movie for me as I was constantly begging them to spray some water whenever it gets too dry to handle ( I didn’t prep my hair before hand *sighs*) . They insisted that I blow dry it and I refused…I had to at least; who knows the name a popular movie villain they’d become as soon  as they lay their fingers on the dryer? But all in all the braids came out well; I guess that’s the only area I get to commend them.

So I had them on for three weeks. My basic maintenance routine was quite simply. Spritzing with a water and glycerin mix about three times a week and sealing every week. I really got lazy when it came down to protecting the hair at night X_X. I really feel awful about that and somewhat wish I could have protected it better. All the same, I actually enjoyed this period of break I had; it was more like a break from the daily moisturizing, sealing, and styling and all. My basic style was a bun both indoors and outdoors. I don’t know if it’s just me, but the thought of wearing the braids down sort of irritated me all the time. I guess it’s simply because I’m now used to wearing short hair.

On to the take down. I simply got my self a very cheapie not so bad conditioner- topklass. It’s got a lot of slip. It really worked it’s magic as I slathered some on my parted braids.I used this basically to ease the takedown process and to detangle after takedown. The process didn’t feel like a chore as I undid them while watching Africa’s next top model. I started off by cutting the braids at the point where there’s only one inch of extension below my real hair, after that was done, I parted the braids in to four and added generous amount of conditioner to each section; one section at a time. And then, I patiently undid and finger detangled each braid. I twisted up my detangled hair to avoid getting it tangled again. I must say, that I noticed some growth in just 3 weeks and I was quite happy with that. After twisting up all my hair, I untwisted and and further detangled with a wide tooth comb to get rid of any shed hair left then I parted my hair into six puffs ready for my wash.

Topklass !.7 litres or so.
Topklass  Instant conditioner
WP_20140105_041
Twisted hair after takedown.
Side view of further-detangles hair (8 puff)
Side view of further-detangles hair (8 puffs)
Back view
Back view

After washing, this was what my hair looked like.

WP_20140105_073 WP_20140105_074It was feeling very so soft and moisturized that I felt I had to give myself a pat in the back. After letting the hair air dry, I proceeded to moisturizing and sealing all that good stuff. I dampened my hair with Boots traditional skincare Glycerin and Rosewater (review in a bit 🙂 ), then moisturized with Organics tea tree oil dual conditioner (I tell you, this product does wonders for my hair) and I sealed with Shea butter. I put my hair in six puffs immediately after the wash.

SO after this.  I would be braiding/ twisting up my hair for about two weeks  before proceeding to try out the inversion method theory with loose hair. I’m super excited! I hope to welcome you all into the month of February (My month : D) with my inversion method results. Stay tuned!

Moisturised hair in 6 puffs
Moisturised hair in 6 puffs

Love from me

5 comments

What do you think?